Bill Henson Exhibition

A few weeks ago I had a really WONDERFUL day touring Sydney’s galleries. Of particular note were the 2010 Biennale of Sydney, the Archibald, Wynn and Sulman Prizes at the Art Gallery of NSW, and the exhibition of Bill Henson’s latest photographic works at Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery in Paddington.

Untitled by Bill Henson (2009/2010)

Untitled by Bill Henson (2009/2010)

Henson’s portraits have a kind of luminosity to them; his technique makes the skin of his subjects seem translucent yet gritty, perhaps even stained or dirty, and thus human; the viewer senses the mortality and fragility of his subjects. I had a go at replicating Henson’s grainy, green-tinted photographic technique the day after I visited the exhibition:

Untitled by Leonard Low (2010)

Untitled by Leonard Low (2010)

It’s only partially successful – but this is the first time I’ve tried to process my photos to achieve this look, whereas Bill has had decades to refine his technique! I suppose if I want to continue to reflect Bill Henson’s influence, I will get better with some further practice. 🙂 In particular, I need less my colour treatment to be more greyish and less green, I need back/hair lighting on my subject, and more fill lighting so that the subject stands out more from the dark background rather than merging into it. I’ll work on it!!

~ by Q on June 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
