Preparing: Professional Portrait Shoot

Oh my god.  I seriously hope I haven’t bitten off more than I can chew here.

I’m preparing to do a really big portrait shoot, in which I’m hoping to achieve a few things:

  1. Take my “final” photos for my major assignment for PHOT122.  This will involve getting my models to hold unlit light bulbs in various poses, though some of the bulbs will be made to APPEAR lit, by using a strong, focussed, on-axis light.
  2. Take portrait shots which will be “portfolio pieces” of my own work – a visual summary of my learning in this course.  Whether or not I decide to start doing professional work, I think it’s valuable to create some beautiful images that show my ability at this point in time.  I will be giving copies of these photos to my models (who are mostly my friends who’ve volunteered for this!) and to my make-up artist, in return for very generous student pricing on their professional services.

Yes that’s right.  I’m getting a professional make-up artist and a seperate hair stylist to work on this shoot with me.  It will be as close as I can manage to a professional portrait photo-shoot.  Somehow, I will be trying to coordinate eight models, two stylists, and various interested spectators, while trying to stay focussed on taking the best portraits I’ve ever taken.

Keep your fingers crossed for me!

~ by Q on May 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
