Refining my lighting

It was definitely helpful to get some ideas from the pros at Photo.net… I’ve been able to refine what I’ll need to do to capture the images I want for my assignment.

  • Charles from Photo.net and our portraiture notes concur that on-axis lighting is the way to go for the portraits to make them look more attractive.  So that will be my main light in the setup: a diffuse soft-box from above the camera.
  • I’ll need a strong backlight behind my subjects to light up their hair for a “halo” effect.
  • I’ll want a gold reflector on hand to warm up the images and fine-tune and shadows that might be cast.

What I think I need most of all is some studio time to have a go… it’s hard to figure out if you’re designing things the right way if you haven’t had a chance to try things out and see what works and what doesn’t!

~ by Q on April 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
