Post to Photo.net

I just posted the following on the Photo.net “Portraits and Fashion/Portrait Lighting” forum.  I’m hoping to get some advice from the many professionals and enthusiasts in this awesome online community:

Making a Subject Glow

I’m working on a set of photos for a photography assignment, where the brief is to promote Earth Hour. I’ve decided I’d like to take some portrait shots of people holding unlit light bulbs, but make it look like they themselves are sources of “illumination” through posing and lighting. I’d either like to shoot these subjects as if they’re glowing themselves, or as if they have a halo, and make them look attractive. I’m going to contrast these with photos of people holding lit light bulbs, and make them harshly/unflatteringly lit.

Does anyone have any ideas or advice I could try to make the most of my limited studio time and achieve the difficult halo/illumination shots? I’ll probably only get a few hours in the studio to try to get the “look” I’m after, so I guess I’m doing as much research as I can *before* getting in there. 🙂

The college studio is fully equipped with professional studio flashes, modelling lights, snoots, barn doors, gels, soft boxes backdrops, etc. and I’ll be shooting on a Canon EOS 5D Mk II equipped with a 50mm f/1.4 USM prime.

Thanks for your suggestions!
L.

Link to post.

~ by Q on April 6, 2009.

One Response to “Post to Photo.net”

  1. […] posted my first few images to my Photo.net discussion thread and it elicited this […]

Leave a Reply

 
