Practice: The Stomp

The Stomp” is a “non-denominational” (all styles) dance party held a few times every year.  Supported by Rotary, it has raised over $40,000 for needy charities since the first “Stomp” was run in support of tsunami victims back in 2005 (I was a member of the organising committee 2005-2006 and continue to attend whenever I can!).

The latest Stomp was held last night, entitled “Cirque de Stomp” – a circus theme.  Although I spent most of the night dancing, I brought the camera along to take pictures while I was resting between sets.  Here are some of my favourites, all shot with my trusty Canon 50mm f/1.4 USM.

In My Arms: Speedlite bounced right off wall, ISO800 1/125s f/1.4 +2/3EV:

Gotcha!: Speedlite bounced left off wall, ISO800 1/125s f/1.4 +2/3EV

Crossfire: A freaky one-in-a-thousand chance shot: I used a Speedlite bounced behind to the right… but another photographer happened to take a flash shot from the other side of the room at exactly the same moment. As a result the frame was overexposed, but the effect is quite striking due to the dancers’ poses – as if they’re being pushed back by the light.

~ by Q on April 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
