Writing my project proposal

I’ve decided that I’m going to try and think up a portrait photography angle on this assignment.  There are several reasons:

  • I’m also a keen artist, and my main interest has always been with human figure and portrait drawing and painting.  I already have a keen understanding of the human figure and face, which I may be able to apply to photography.
  • The reason I’ve always been drawn to drawing and painting people is because I think they are amazing.  I’m constantly fascinated by the endless variety of emotions, expressions, and stories you can “read” in people’s faces and postures.  I’m dazzled by human beauty, and (while travelling through India) I’ve been … what’s the word… overwhelmed… by human suffering too.  I want to capture some of those stories any way I can… and a camera seems as good a way as any.
  • If I ever decide to make photography more than just a hobby or interest, photographing people (portraits, weddings, etc.) is probably more viable and interesting than photographing objects or landscapes.  This will force me to develop my skills in photographing people!
  • Photographing people seems like more of a challenge than photographing things or places.  I’m always up for a challenge. 🙂

I’d like to have something on paper for our discussion session in two day’s time, so I’ll try to think of a good “angle” on the assignment topic before then. 🙂

~ by Q on March 10, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
